Just Go For It!

As I mentioned in my master bedroom inspiration post, I typically choose light colors for my rooms. In our first house, a dark mocha color (read tan with a bit of a golden tint in it- I don’t recall the name) in my kitchen was my “bold” painted room. The other rooms we painted were a very light ocean blue (I don’t remember the name- maybe ocean breeze? It was Pittsburgh Grand Distinction paint though!), a slightly brighter but still light green (I don’t even know what brand of paint this time…eek, sorry!), and a very muted tan (do you really think I’ll know what this one was called?!). This house has proven similar so far. Apart from Tate’s crazy stripes (I’m on the last one by the way! Woot woot!), the two rooms we’ve painted are Behr paint color matched to Benjamin Moore Stonington Gray. I love it, but it’s not a very bold choice!

Anyway, the point of all that is to say since my colors are fairly light and calming usually, and because I’m a super decisive person, I don’t usually bother with getting samples of different colors to test on the walls. I’m very much a grab and go kind of girl. With the Stonington Gray, I didn’t even see a swatch beforehand- I saw a picture of a room painted that color online, looked on Benjamin Moore’s website to make sure I liked it there too, and then went to the store and bought the paint. Wam, bam, thank you ma’am.

So what’s my problem?

Well…

Do you have any idea how many variations of freaking navy paint there are?!

A lot.

Probably like a million. At least.

And we just looked at Walmart.

My original plan was to get the same brand of paint for our whole house just so it would be easy to remember. And that’s not ruled out exactly, just a little inconvenient. Home Depot, who sells the Behr paint, is a half an hour away. So are all the other big box stores. And when mama wants paint, she wants paint! :) Unfortunately, in our town our only options are Ace Hardware (LOVE their paint, but they close at 8… Again, this girl needs convenience!) and the wonderful world of Walmart. We used Walmart paint in our bathroom reno at the old house and also purchased Glidden brand paint there for Tate’s stripes, so we know we don’t have a problem with the quality of paint. Typically, my problem at Walmart is my choices are much more limited.

Ha.

It didn’t take me long to realize the paint buying was not going to be taking place last night. Instead I grabbed every possible a few of the navy options Corey and I liked the best and decided we would attempt the poor man’s version of getting paint samples:

The options that made the final cut.

The options that made the final cut.

I think it’s probably safe to say we have eliminated the two on the far left and the one on the far right and are deciding between the remaining three: Glidden Rich Navy, BHG’s Blue Cirque, and Disney Sleepover Scare (yes, my husband loved Sleepover Scare and insisted we have it be an option… Don’t tell him, but I did like it too, hence why it’s still in the running… I’m just not sure if our grown up adult room can handle a Disney paint AND one that’s called Sleepover Scare yet to boot!). Last night I was almost completely sold on Rich Navy, the third from the left (when looking at all of the choices, including the ones already eliminated). This morning and afternoon though I’ve favored Blue Cirque, the next one to the right. In the night light, Blue Cirque looked really blue, hence my hesitation, but it’s Corey’s favorite right now too, so it will likely be the winner. I’m just not this used to being so indecisive, especially about paint colors! I am really glad we decided to bring the strips home (although Corey said to ‘just go for it!’ at the store when we were both leaning towards Blue Cirque there…) to help me make the choice! We will see if I decide tonight and if my impatience to get our room going makes me just go for it! :)

One thing though that was a super easy decision and a purchase I had no problem making last night was eight brand new smoke detectors and a couple of carbon monoxide detectors:

It's amazing how much safer I felt knowing these were up last night!

It’s amazing how much safer I felt knowing these were up last night!

Carbon monoxide poisoning has always been one of my fears, so this made me sleep MUCH better!

Carbon monoxide poisoning has always been one of my fears, so this made me sleep MUCH better!

Prior to last night’s purchase our whole 2,000+ square foot house had TWO smoke detectors, and that’s it! Definitely not cutting it!

Sometimes I hate making those purchases that I think, this purchase is adding no value to my house! or there are so many other things I could spend this money on!, but ultimately I could never put a price tag on the safety of my family. Even though a coat of new paint would make those walls look so much better than the smoke alarms and CO detectors, I think it’s money well spent! :)

So that’s that- spending dolla dolla bills y’all! :)

We will have to see how this weekend pans out. Corey works this weekend, so it makes accomplishing things a bit more difficult, but I hope to at least finish the stripes in Tate’s room FINALLY and maybe do a little bit of other painting. I would commit to the master bedroom, but the walls in there are plaster and a few repairs need to be done before painting, so that’s kind of on hold. Chances are if I do any extra painting it’ll be the dining room. Or maybe I’ll just do an entirely different project! Or there’s always garage sales… ;)

3 thoughts on “Just Go For It!

    • It is excruciating! Hopefully it’ll turn out well though, whatever I decide! :) And I think we will probably do the whole room navy, but that’s not set in stone either. I was a little worried it would be too dark, but my husband works third so it’s kind of a good thing to have a room that is darker during the day to help him sleep! :)

  1. Pingback: Progress and Inspiration | Our Forever Home

Leave a comment